Contact Us
South Orange Daily Voice serves Blooming Grove, Chester, Cornwall, Goshen, Highlands, Monroe, Tuxedo, Warwick & Woodbury
Return to your home site


South Orange Daily Voice serves Blooming Grove, Chester, Cornwall, Goshen, Highlands, Monroe, Tuxedo, Warwick & Woodbury

Nearby Towns

  • West Orange
    serves Deerpark, Greenville, Middletown, Minisink, Mount Hope, Port Jervis & Wawayanda
  • North Rockland
    serves Garnerville, Grassy Point, Stony Point, Thiells, Tomkins Cove, Village of Haverstraw & West Haverstraw in Haverstraw Town
  • Putnam
    serves Brewster, Carmel-Kent, Cold Spring, Mahopac, Patterson & Putnam Valley
  • Ramapo
    serves Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Hillburn, Hillcrest, Kaser, Monsey, Montebello, Mount Ivy, New Hempstead, New Square, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Spring Valley, Suffern, Tallman, Viola & Wesley Hills
  • North Orange
    serves Crawford, Hamptonburgh, Middletown, Montgomery, New Windsor, Newburgh & Wallkill

Orange County Voters Elect Mayors, Trustees, Justices

There were 13 village elections on Tuesday in Orange County.
There were 13 village elections on Tuesday in Orange County. Photo Credit: File

Elections were held Tuesday, March 20 in these 13 villages in Orange County.


Re-elected unopposed for village trustee in Cornwall-on-Hudson were incumbents James Kane of the Village First Party, with 165 votes, and Kenneth Schmidt of Cornwall-on-Hudson United, with 166 votes.


Elected mayor in the village of Florida was Daniel Harter Jr. of the Harter Party, with 294 unofficial votes, defeating Robert Schreibeis of Working for Florida, with 258 votes.

Running unopposed for two trustee seats in Florida were incumbents Thomas Fuller Sr. of the People's Party, with 425 votes, and Craig Olejniczak of the Seward Patriot Party, with 407 votes.


Two incumbents were re-elected unopposed for two village trustee seats in Goshen: Christopher Gurda, with 65 votes, and Michael Nuzzolese, with 61 votes -- both from the Family Party.


In Greenwood Lake, two incumbents ran unopposed for two village trustee seats: Katheleen Holder, who received 58 votes, and Chad Sellier, with 51 votes -- both from the Voice of the People Party.


Re-elected as mayor of Maybrook was Dennis Leahy of the Voice of the People Party, with 278 votes. Leahy defeated Thomas W. Starro of Maybrook United, who received 104 votes.

Four candidates ran for two open seats on the Maybrook Village Board of Trustees: The winners were Daryl J. Capozzoli of Rebuild Maybrook with 262 votes and incumbent Robert Pritchard of the Liberty Party with 243 votes.

They defeated Joseph Byrne, with 149 votes and Joshua Tyrrell with 93 votes -- both running with Maybrook United.


Village of Monroe Trustee Neil Dwyer won a three-way race for mayor on Tuesday, ending James Purcell’s eight-year imcumbency.

Dwyer, with 428 votes, beat both Purcell, 381 votes, and John Karl III, a former mayor whom Purcell unseated in 2010. Karl received 135 votes.

Also winning on Tuesday were Dwyer’s running mates for village trustee -- Carey Alley with 525 votes and Dorey Houle with 495 votes. All three candidates were backed by the United Monroe citizens group and ran on the Smart Growth party line.


Incumbent Justice Andrew T. Roepe was re-elected for another four years, with 244 votes.

Roepe fended off challenges from newcomers Maria Beltrametti, with 75 votes, and Andrew Lenane, with 118 votes.


Two incumbent village trustees from the Otisville Community Party ran unopposed on: Diane Loeven, with 52 votes and Isaac Palmer, with 51 votes.


Incumbent James LoFranco was elected to his first full term as mayor of South Blooming Grove with 506 votes, defeating challenger and former Washingtonville mayor Kevin Hudson, who received 201 votes.

Four people ran for two open village board of trustee seats: James Mullany of the People First Party, led with 495 votes, followed by incumbent Sue Anne Vogelsberg of the People First Party, with 488 votes.

Incumbent Joseph Murphy of the United Party lost his seat with 213 votes while Tim-Sum Shum of the United Party received 200 votes.

Running unopposed for village trustee to finish an unexpired term was John Ross of the People First Party, who received 503 votes.


Two incumbents ran unopposed for village trustee seats in Unionville: Tied with 13 votes apiece, unofficially, were Pat Quinn and Mary Roth, both of the Neighbor Party.


Three Walden United candidates ran unopposed for village trustee seats: Larry Kraus, with 78 votes, incumbent John Ramos, with 70 votes, and Dan Svarczkopf, with 60 votes.


Warwick Mayor Michael Newhard of the Vibrant Village Party won unopposed with 358 votes.

Running unopposed for village trustee were William Lindberg of the Fiscal Viability Party, with 298 votes, and George McManus of the Balanced Party, with 301 votes.


Three candidates ran for two village trustee seats in Washingtonville: Incumbent Valerie Laudato of For My Village Party was the winner with 226 votes. Diane Mack of Mack 4 You Party also won a seat with an unofficial total of 210 votes.

Cathy Gregg of the Better Tomorrow Party finished third with 121 votes.

Incumbent Stephen Smith of the Fair Justice Party was unopposed for village justice, with 222 votes.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

South Orange Daily Voice!

Serves Blooming Grove, Chester, Cornwall, Goshen, Highlands, Monroe, Tuxedo, Warwick & Woodbury

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.